ETSC backing European Parliamentary working group on sustainable and safe active mobility

  • October 24, 2019

ETSC is linking up with 15 organisations to call for the setting-up of a new European Parliamentary “intergroup” to work on sustainable and safe active mobility.

Intergroups are unofficial working groups of MEPs, organised around topics of common interest that may not be well covered by official committees.  52 MEPs from across the political spectrum have so-far said they would support the intergroup.

ETSC’s role will be to advise the group on how the ongoing shift towards more sustainable and healthy transport modes can be done in a way that improves safety for all.

It is hoped that the group will look at areas including the EU’s future transport strategy, the Urban Mobility Strategy, and technology questions such as implementation of new vehicle safety standards, C-ITS and automation.

MEPs interested in supporting the new group are encouraged to print and sign a declaration that can be forwarded via email to Fabian Küster at the European Cyclists’ Federation by 12 December.   The final decision on which proposed groups are given the green light will be taken in the coming months by the Conference of the Presidents of the European Parliament.