Eight European students win the YEARS awards for upgrading dangerous road infrastructure

Eight European students win the YEARS awards for upgrading dangerous road infrastructure

Four pairs of engineering students from Italy, Lithuania and Poland have been recognised for projects to redesign and upgrade high-risk road infrastructure in the cities of Milan, Naples, Vilnius and Kraków.

New EU vehicle safety standards essential to reducing child road deaths

New EU vehicle safety standards could prevent 25,000 deaths

ETSC have warmly welcomed a package of measures announced by the European Commission to help reduce the 25,000 deaths that occur on EU roads annually.

Showcase your organisation’s achievements in road safety

PRAISE Awards 2018

If your organisation has a road safety programme, and the results to prove it - we want to hear from you. Apply now for the PRAISE Awards 2018

It’s time to get serious about self-driving cars

It’s time to get serious about self-driving cars

Neither the US nor European regulatory system is set up to deal with the challenge of approving self-driving technologies for public use. Read more...

PRAISE Awards 2018

Find out more about how your business can apply for the 2018 ETSC PRAISE Awards for organisations large and small that are putting road safety first.


Speed is the number one killer on Europe’s roads. Find out how cutting-edge Intelligent Speed Assistance (ISA) technology can help.


Drink-driving is responsible for the deaths of thousands of Europeans every year. Read our report on how alcohol interlocks are being used to tackle the problem.

Serious injuries

At least 135,000 people are seriously injured on EU roads each year. EU Transport Ministers have called for a new EU target and measures to reduce the numbers.

Latest News

Eight European students win the YEARS awards for upgrading dangerous road infrastructure in their communities
  • 12/9/2018

Four pairs of engineering students from Italy, Lithuania and Poland have been recognised for...

France introduces 80km/h limit on 400,000km of road
  • 2/7/2018

Two-lane roads with no separating guard rail in France have had...

ETSC is a Brussels-based independent non-profit making organisation dedicated to reducing the numbers of deaths and injuries in transport in Europe. Areas that we work on:

Our Office Location

Our office in Brussels is located near to the European institutions. The nearest metro station is Merode, the nearest train station in Brussels Schuman. Click here for detailed instructions on how to find us.

  • 20 Avenue des Celtes
    Brussels B-1040
  • +32 2 230 4106
  • information@etsc.eu

In the media

Meer dan 5.000 van de 25.000 verkeersdoden per jaar in de Europese Unie zijn te wijten aan alcohol. Dat staat in een nieuw rapport van de Europese organisatie voor verkeersveiligheid ETSC. De European Transport Safety Council spoort de lidstaten aan om alcoholsloten in vrachtwagens en bussen te verplichten.
El Consejo Europeo de Seguridad del Transporte ha hecho un llamamiento a la UE para exigir que se coloquen sistemas de bloqueo de alcohol, un dispositivo de prueba de aliento que evita que el vehículo arranque si el conductor excede el límite, en todos los vehículos profesionales nuevos y que se adapten a los automóviles utilizados por los infractores reincidentes.
According to the European Transport Safety Council fatigue causes about 20% of accidents in commercial vehicles in the EU.
Among its recommendations, the ETSC report urges EU legislators to push through rules making new in-car safety technology such as autonomous emergency braking, intelligent speed assistance, alcohol interlocks mandatory.
Progress in reducing road deaths across Europe has "virtually ground to a halt" since 2014. That is the blunt assessment of the European Transport Safety Council (ETSC).

Our Members

  • Confederación Nacional de Autoescuelas (CNAE) (ES)
  • Parliamentary Advisory Council for Transport Safety (PACTS)
  • Centro Studi Città Amica (CeSCAm), University of Brescia
  • VdTÜV
  • Vias Institute
  • Transport Scotland
  • Global Road Safety Partnership
  • Towards Zero Foundation
  • Association in Defence of Insured and Injured in Road Accidents
  • BeSafe
  • Austrian Institute of Technology (AIT)
  • German Road Safety Council / Deutscher Verkehrssicherheitsrat (DVR)
  • Region Midtjylland – Central Region Denmark
  • Institute for Transport Studies, University of Leeds
  • Road Safety Authority, Ireland
  • Liikenneturva
  • Swedish Abstaining Motorists’ Association (MHF)
  • International Motorcycling Federation
  • Fondazione Ania
  • Fundación MAPFRE
  • Czech Transport Research Center
  • Vehicle Technology Research Centre, University of Birmingham
  • Danish Road Safety Council
  • Folksam Research
  • Norwegian Council for Road Safety
  • European Driving Schools Association (EFA)
  • Swiss Council for Accident Prevention
  • European Federation of Road Traffic Victims (FEVR)
  • Catalan Traffic Service (SCT)
  • Transport Safety Research Centre, Loughborough University
  • ARSC – Albanian Road Safety Council
  • Centre for Transport and Logistics (CTL), Sapienza – University of Rome
  • Auto und Reiseclub Deutschland
  • Road Safety Support
  • Finnish Crash Data Institute (OTI)
  • Slovenian Traffic Safety Agency
  • Chalmers University of Technology
  • Austrian Road Safety Board – KFV
  • Prevenção Rodoviária Portuguesa
  • Norwegian Abstaining Motorists’ Association
  • Automobile Club d’Italia
  • Dutch Safety Board
  • Motor Transport Institute, Poland
  • Road Traffic Safety Agency of the Republic of Serbia
  • AWSR – Agence wallonne pour la Sécurité routière
  • MOVING International Road Safety Association
  • Republic Council for Road Traffic Safety (RCRTS)
  • Finnish Transport Safety Agency
  • Association Prévention Routière
  • Road Safety Institute – Panos Mylonas, Greece
  • Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover
  • Hellenic Institute of Transport – Centre for Research and Technology Hellas (CERTH)
  • Traffic Safety Agency of Republika Srpska
  • Flemish Foundation for Traffic Knowledge
  • Safer Roads Foundation
  • Health and Safety Authority, Ireland
© 2018 European Transport Safety Council

20 Avenue des Celtes | Brussels | B-1040 | Belgium

t +32 2 230 4106 | f +32 2 230 4215