About Us

Our mission

ETSC is a Brussels-based independent non-profit making organisation dedicated to reducing the numbers of deaths and injuries in transport in Europe.

Founded in 1993, ETSC provides an impartial source of expert advice on transport safety matters to the European Commission, the European Parliament, and Member States. It maintains its independence through funding from a variety of sources including membership subscriptions, the European Commission, and public and private sector support for various activities.

What we do

ETSC seeks to identify and promote effective measures on the basis of international scientific research and best practice in areas which offer the greatest potential for a reduction in transport crashes and casualties. It provides factual information in the form of scientific reports, fact sheets and newsletters in support of high safety standards in EU harmonisation, the take up of best practice and transport safety research. ETSC also organises several national and international conferences every year.


Since 1993, ETSC has brought together more than 200 internationally renowned transport safety experts from across the EU.


ETSC’s work is financed by its members, through projects co-funded by the European Commission, and through public and private sector sponsorship.

Click here to go to our entry on the European Transparency Register.

Board of directors

Professor Herman De Croo (Chairman)
Member of Parliament and Minister of State, Belgium

Professor Richard Allsop
University College London & PACTS, UK

Dr. Walter Eichendorf
German Road Safety Council (DVR)

Tjibbe Joustra
Dutch Safety Board (OVV)

Michael Cramer
Member of the European Parliament

Dieter-Lebrecht Koch
Member of the European Parliament

Olga Sehnalová
Member of the European Parliament

Ines Ayala Sender
Member of the European Parliament

Dirk Sterckx
Former Member of the European Parliament

Professor Pieter van Vollenhoven

Safe and Sustainable Travel

Read our safe and sustainable travel policy for our staff.

Our Members

  • AWSR – Agence wallonne pour la Sécurité routière
  • Norwegian Council for Road Safety
  • Region Midtjylland – Central Region Denmark
  • Road Safety Institute – Panos Mylonas, Greece
  • Confederación Nacional de Autoescuelas (CNAE) (ES)
  • Transport Safety Research Centre, Loughborough University
  • ARSC – Albanian Road Safety Council
  • Slovenian Traffic Safety Agency
  • Vias Institute
  • Towards Zero Foundation
  • Chalmers University of Technology
  • Hellenic Institute of Transport – Centre for Research and Technology Hellas (CERTH)
  • Flemish Foundation for Traffic Knowledge
  • Prevenção Rodoviária Portuguesa
  • Swedish Abstaining Motorists’ Association (MHF)
  • Association Prévention Routière
  • Vehicle Technology Research Centre, University of Birmingham
  • Road Safety Support
  • Austrian Road Safety Board – KFV
  • Centro Studi Città Amica (CeSCAm), University of Brescia
  • Road Safety Authority, Ireland
  • Institute for Transport Studies, University of Leeds
  • Finnish Crash Data Institute (OTI)
  • Danish Road Safety Council
  • European Driving Schools Association (EFA)
  • Transport Scotland
  • International Motorcycling Federation
  • Traffic Safety Agency of Republika Srpska
  • BeSafe
  • Folksam Research
  • German Road Safety Council / Deutscher Verkehrssicherheitsrat (DVR)
  • Global Road Safety Partnership
  • Austrian Institute of Technology (AIT)
  • Auto und Reiseclub Deutschland
  • Road Traffic Safety Agency of the Republic of Serbia
  • Centre for Transport and Logistics (CTL), Sapienza – University of Rome
  • Motor Transport Institute, Poland
  • Association in Defence of Insured and Injured in Road Accidents
  • Health and Safety Authority, Ireland
  • Swiss Council for Accident Prevention
  • Parliamentary Advisory Council for Transport Safety (PACTS)
  • Dutch Safety Board
  • Safer Roads Foundation
  • MOVING International Road Safety Association
  • Finnish Transport Safety Agency
  • Norwegian Abstaining Motorists’ Association
  • Republic Council for Road Traffic Safety (RCRTS)
  • Fondazione Ania
  • Catalan Traffic Service (SCT)
  • VdTÜV
  • Czech Transport Research Center
  • Liikenneturva
  • European Federation of Road Traffic Victims (FEVR)
  • Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover
  • Automobile Club d’Italia
  • Fundación MAPFRE


© 2017 European Transport Safety Council

20 Avenue des Celtes | Brussels | B-1040 | Belgium

t +32 2 230 4106 | f +32 2 230 4215