



9th ETSC Road Safety Performance Index (PIN) Conference

18 June 2015, 14.00 - 18.30Norway House, Rue Archimède 17, 1000 Brussels

14.00	Registration and coffee	
14.30	Welcome	
	Atle Leikvoll, Ambassador, Mission of Norway to the EU Herman De Croo, ETSC President Peter Kronberg, Safety Director, Volvo Group Jacques Pieraerts, Vice President, Toyota Motor Europe	
14.50	Road safety PIN Award ceremony	
	Chair: Antonio Avenoso, ETSC Executive Director	
	2015 Road Safety PIN Award to Slovenia, Antonio Avenoso	
	Handover of the PIN Award to Peter Gašperšič	
15.10	Speech, Peter Gašperšič, Minister of Infrastructure	
15.20	Questions and Answers	
15.30	Keynote Speech, Violeta Bulc, Commissioner for Transport, European Commission	
15.40	Questions and Answers to Commissioner	
15.50	Pictures of the 2015 winner / coffee break	
16.15	The PIN Report 2015	

Chair: Rob Gifford

- Progress in reducing deaths and serious injury on Europe's roads, Professor Richard Allsop, University College London & PACTS
- Response from Aidan Reid, TISPOL President

Questions and answers

17.00 Motorway safety

- Ranking EU progress on improving motorway safety, Associated Professor Astrid Linder, National Road and Transport Research Institute, Sweden
- Response from Professor Francesca La Torre, University of Florence

Questions and answers

17.30 Pedestrian and cyclist safety

- Making walking and cycling on Europe's roads safer, Jesper Sølund, Head of Documentation, Danish Road Safety Council
- Response from Geert van Waeg, Vice-president of the International Federation of Pedestrians
- Response from Ceri Woolsgrove, Policy Officer, European Cyclists Federation

Questions and Answers

18.30 Closing cocktail



ETSC's Road Safety Performance Index (PIN) programme was set up in 2006 as a response to the first road safety target set by the European Union to halve road deaths between 2001 and 2010. In 2010, the European Union renewed its commitment to reduce road deaths by 50% by 2020, compared to 2010 levels.

By comparing Member State performance, the PIN serves to identify and promote best practice and inspire the kind of political leadership needed to deliver a road transport system that is as safe as is practicable.

The PIN covers all relevant areas of road safety including road user behaviour, infrastructure and vehicles, as well as road safety policymaking. Each year ETSC publishes PIN 'Flash' reports on specific areas of road safety.

In June each year ETSC's analysis of overall annual progress on tackling road deaths and serious injuries is published in the PIN Annual Report. The report covers the 28 Member States of the European Union, together with Israel, Norway, the Republic of Serbia and Switzerland.

Each year ETSC hosts the PIN Conference which is also the platform for the presentation of the PIN Award to the best performing country.

Past winners of the PIN Award:

2014	Slovakia
2013	Denmark
2012	Hungary
2011	Sweden and Lithuania
2010	Estonia and Ireland
2009	Spain and Latvia
2008	Portugal
2007	France

ETSC, together with its national Members, also organises PIN Talks in several member states each year, most recently in <u>France</u>.

www.etsc.eu/pin

For more information Graziella Jost, ETSC Programme Director, <u>graziella.jost@etsc.eu</u> Dovile Adminaite, PIN Programme Officer, <u>dovile.adminaite@etsc.eu</u>

The PIN programme receives financial support from Volvo Group, the Swedish Transport Administration, the Norwegian Public Roads Administration, Toyota Motor Europe and the German Road Safety Council (DVR).

